PECO XC League

Home/Races/PECO XC

The PECO Cross Country League races are typically run on trail. The series consists of 5 races between October and March. Approximately 250 runners compete in each race. Race distances are between 4 and 5 miles.

The team scoring system is based on finishing positions with first 8 men counting for the men’s team and the first 4 ladies counting for the ladies team (first 5 in the Premier League).

Currently the league consists of 18 clubs, divided into 2 divisions (‘Premier’ and ‘First’) for men and for ladies.
All clubs also compete in the Vets division (separate for men and ladies): for men, 3 MV40s, 2MV50s and 1 MV60 count for the team score; for ladies it is 1 LV35, 1LV45 and 1 LV55. With effect from 2013/14 season the Men’s and Ladies Veterans will be divided into Premier and First Divisions.
The club which has improved the most overall year on year (combined men and women) is awarded the Colin Morath Memorial Trophy.
Individual league tables are compiled on the basis of race position; individual series prizes (1st to 3rd in each 5 year age category) are based on the best 4 results from the 5 races.

For more details please visit:


Race 1: Nostell Priory (hosted by Ackworth Road Runners) on Sunday 26th November 2017
Race 2: Golden Acre (hosted by Abbey Runners) on Sunday 10th December 2017
Race 3: Roundhay Park (hosted by Roundhay Runners) on Sunday 7th January 2018
Race 4: Middleton Park (hosted by HPH/Rothwell) on Sunday 21st January 2018
Race 5: Temple Newsam (hosted by Kippax) on Sunday 11th February 2018

Relays – Sun 25th March – Venue TBC